Soca Monarch


The International Soca Monarch was established in 1993, its main aim to create an environment where soca music could be exhibited on an international stage while simultaneously being enjoyed by fans of the genre. Since then, it has evolved from being a mere competition to an institution of the carnival season earning the Friday on which it is traditionally held, the sobriquet of Fantastic Friday, synonymous with mind blowing performances, and the best of the season’s artistes. Few artistes have earned the prestigious title of International Soca Monarch; the following is a listing of the winners to date:

Power Soca Monarch


Year Artiste Composition
1993 Super Blue Bacchanal Time
1994 Super Blue Flag Party
1995 Ronnie Mc Intosh On De Road
1996 Super Blue Bounce
1997 Ronnie Mc Intosh Ent
Super Blue Barbara
1998 Super Blue Ato Party
1999 Kurt Allen Stampede (Dus Dem)
2000 Super Blue Pump Up
2001 Shadow Stranger
2002 Bunji Garlin In de Ghetto
Iwer George Gimme ah Bligh
2003 Iwer George Ah Home
2004 Bunji Garlin Warrior Cry
2005 Bunji Garlin Blaze it
2006 Shurwayne Winchester Can’t Wait
2007 Iwer George Fete after Fete
2008 Bunji Garlin Fiery
2009 Fayann Lyons Alvarez Meet Super Blue
2010 Blaze and JW Palance
2011 Machel Montano Advantage
2012 Machel Montano Pump Your Flag
2013 Machel Montano / Austin “SuperBlue” Lyons Float / Fantastic Friday
2014 Machel Montano Ministry Of The Road
2015 Machel Montano Like Ah Boss
2016 Voice Cheers To Life
2017 Voice Far From Finished
2018 Voice Year For love
2019 Mr. Killa Run Wid It
2020 Iwer George

Groovy Soca Monarch

The Groovy Soca Monarch competition emerged in 2005, just as the groovy soca hybrid began to gain popularity. Since then, it has become as significant to Fantastic Friday as the International Soca Monarch itself is to Carnival. Some of its past Winners include:

Year Artiste Composition
2005 Michelle Sylvester Sleeping in my Bed
2006 Shurwayne Winchester Don’t Stop
2007 Biggie Irie Nah Going Home
2008 Shurwayne Winchester Please Stay
2009 Fayann Lyons Alvarez Heavy T Bumper
2010 Shurwayne Winchester Murdah
2011 Kes Dieffenthaller Wotless
2012 Machel Montano Mr. Fete
2013 Machel Montano Fog
2014 Kerwin Du Bois Too Real
2015 Olatunji Ola
2016 Voice Cheers To Life
2017 Voice Far From Finished
2018 Voice Year For love
2019 Swappi Party Start
2020 College Boy Jesse

Carib Breakout Artiste

Year Artiste Composition
2014 Mr Kill@ Rolly Polly